Lars Leonhard + Alvina Red | Seasons – Les Quatre Saisons


Lars Leonhard + Alvina Red | Seasons – Les Quatre Saisons

Product no.: BINE CD29
13.90
Price incl. VAT, incl. delivery


It's been 287 years since Antonio Vivaldi wrote his popular masterpiece "The Four Seasons". Following in these musical footsteps, Lars Leonhard now takes on the idea of molding the distinct characteristics of Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter into twelve pieces of electronic music.

After the previous, purely instrumental releases by the Düsseldorf artist - the remix EP "No Comment" (2012) and his debut album "1549" (2011) - his new twelve-track album "Seasons - Les quatre saison" features singer Alvina Red lending her voice to the first of each four seasons' three tracks in pure French - a language whose natural melody is tailor-made for Leonhard's synthetic yet warming sounds.

Living in Stockholm, Alvina Red is no newcomer either, gaining her first professional experience at the age of ten as a background singer for Agnetha Fältskog: the blonde Abba singer was looking for beautiful children's voices for her song "Take Good Care Of Your Children" (the b-side of her hit single "The Heat Is On") and made a find in the clear-as-a-bell voice of young Alvina. Following further engagements in professional choirs including the Nobel Prize awards in Stockholm and as a singer, songwriter and keyboard player for several band projects, Alvina and Lars Leonhard get together on this joint release.

With all tracks written in their respective season to add authenticity, production of "Seasons - Les quatre saison" took almost exactly one year. Leonhard starts the awakening of nature in Spring with the sleepy minimalistic "Le Printemps", a digital spring of tiny and frail sound flowers on whose meadow Alvina's voice flies like a soft breeze. Following its soft doze are spheric ambient landscapes, deep house rhythms and dubby chords like on the feather-light "L`éte", and by "Dancing In The Noonday Sun" the dancefloor is open - Leonhard's signature grooving dub-techno flows like a Tequila Sunrise at the Café del Mar.

Who fears for Autumn and Winter to be gloomy and cold is shown the nicer sides of these periods instead. Just like the seasons' influence on our lives gets more or less intense, songs like the first cryptic then rhythmic "Colors Of Autumn" enter the listener's soul both wittingly or unwittingly before unfolding their energy. And once Winter's last frozen sound dies away with "Frozen Landscape", you can look forward to the next cycle of the seasons.

 

Release Date // March 18, 2013
Format // Digital Album // CD
Catalog Nr // BINE CD29
EAN // 880319607028

 

Browse these categories as well: Categories, CD, Show All, Lars Leonhard, Alvina Red, Seasons - Les quatre saison

Lars Leonhard + Alvina Red | Seasons – Les Quatre Saisons


Lars Leonhard + Alvina Red | Seasons – Les Quatre Saisons

Artikel-Nr.: BINE CD29
13,90
Preis inkl. MwSt., inkl. Versand


287 Jahre ist es her, dass Antonio Vivaldi sein bekanntestes Werk „Die vier Jahreszeiten“ veröffentlichte. Der Idee, die unterschiedlichen Charaktere von Frühling, Sommer, Herbst und Winter und ihrer Eigenschaften in Musik zu fassen, nimmt sich jetzt auch Lars Leonhard an – aus der Sicht des Elektronikmusikers.

Waren die letzten Veröffentlichungen des Düsseldorfers – die Remix-EP „No Comment“ (2012) und sein Debütalbum „1549“ (2011) – noch rein instrumental, so findet sich auf den nun vorliegenden zwölf Tracks von „Seasons – Les quatre saison“ erstmals auch Gesang. Stimmungsvoll dem Konzept entsprechend veredelt die Sängerin Alvina Red den jeweils ersten Track einer neuen Jahreszeit in reinem Französisch – der Sprache, die dank ihrer natürlichen Melodie wie geschaffen ist für Leonhards synthetische und doch wärmende Sounds.

Die in Stockholm ansässige Alvina Red ist selbst kein unbeschriebenes Blatt: Erste professionelle Erfahrung sammelte sie im Alter von zehn Jahren im Backgroundchor von Agnetha Fältskog: Die blonde Abba-Sängerin brauchte schöne Kinderstimmen für das Stück „Take Good Care Of Your Children“, der B-Seite ihrer Hitsingle „The Heat Is On“, und wurde im glockenklaren Gesang der kleinen Alvina fündig. Nach weiteren Engagements in professionellen Chören, u. a. für die Nobelpreisverleihung in Stockholm, und diversen Bandprojekten als Sängerin, Songwriterin und Keyboarderin findet sich Alvina nun mit Lars Leonhard zu dem gemeinsamen Projekt zusammen.

Fast exakt ein Jahr hat die Produktion von „Seasons – Les quatre saison“ gedauert und der Authentizität zuliebe sind alle Stücke in ihren jeweiligen Jahreszeiten entstanden. Angefangen im Frühling, dem Erwachen der Natur, das Leonhard mit dem verschlafen-minimalistischen „Le Printemps“ beginnt: ein digitales Sprießen winzig zarter Soundblümchen, auf deren Wiese Alvinas Gesang wie eine süße Brise weht. Dem sanften Dösen folgen sphärische Ambient-Landschaften, Deephouse-Rhythmen und dubbige Chords von Tracks wie das federleicht in den Sommer abhebende „L`éte“. Spätestens ab „Dancing In The Noonday Sun“ kann auch mal gemütlich getanzt werden. Der typisch-groovende Dub-Techno à la Leonhard geht runter wie Tequila Sunrise vorm Café del Mar.

Wer nun meint, im Herbst und Winter wird’s düster und kalt, dem weiß das Duo die schönen Seiten auch dieser beiden Perioden zu zeigen. So wie der Einfluss der Jahreszeiten auf unser Leben, mal mehr und mal weniger intensiv, gehen Songs wie das zuerst geheimnisvolle dann rhythmusstarke „Colors of Autumn“ direkt oder unbewusst ins Gemüt und entfalten dort ihre Energie. Und wenn der Winter mit „Frozen Landscape“ seinen letzten eisigen Ton verhallt, dann freut sich der Hörer wieder von vorn – auf den nächsten Lauf der vier Jahreszeiten.

 

Release Date // March 18, 2013
Format // Digital Album // CD
Catalog Nr // BINE CD29
EAN // 880319607028

 

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Categories, CD, Show All, Lars Leonhard, Alvina Red, Seasons - Les quatre saison