Scanner | Rockets, Unto the Edges of Edges


Scanner | Rockets, Unto the Edges of Edges

Product no.: BINE CD18
13.90
Price incl. VAT, incl. delivery


In his most intimate and forceful recording in years Robin Rimbaud aka Scanner maneuvers across fresh terrain that embraces the traditional - guitar, vocals and string arrangements, and the more eclectic – hundreds of found voices, radar transmissions and environmental recordings.

Opening the album with Sans Soleil, featuring Michael Gira (Swans, Angels of Light) on guitar, Scanner sings for the first time on his album, his voice hovering through a barren landscape of fragile loops and harmonies. Crisp distressed melodies with crushingly fat beats unite in Pietas Iulia to map a cinematic landscape populated by N.E.R.D by way of Robert Fripp and John Barry. Anna Livia Plurabelle paints an achingly melancholic picture through which celebrated Mumbai born soprano Patricia Rozario soars and flies with a radiant timbre. Having effectively been the muse for British composer John Taverner for some years, Rozario brings a dexterity and humane conviction to this electronic soundscape.

 

 

The ghostly presence of William Burroughs and philosopher Bertrand Russell weave their way through some of the pieces, opening into the dark heart of Yellow Plains Under White Hot Blue Sky, an epic, almost menacing work, with corrosive voices, noises and abstract shapes over a primordial electronic beat, that continues to build and ignite with bowed strings into a picturesque precise explosion. The Last European casts phonetic Croatian and Korean into a rhythmic bed of pulses and instrumental melodies, tripping through itchy rhythms that entangle themselves upon one another, whilst A Clearing Between Earth and Air closes the album with a highly organic and textured mix of voices, drifting harmonies and Krautrock pulses, breeding a drifting melancholy from the union of voice and electronic and acoustic instrumentation.

By far his most mature and personally sombre album, Rockets is in equal parts sumptuous and achingly beautiful, sentimental and exploratory. Jean Baudrillard once depicted paradise as mournful, a fitting location for this ravishing soundtrack.

 

App

 

Release Date // April 27, 2009
Format // Digital Album // CD
Catalog Nr // BINE CD18
EAN // 880319410727



 

Browse these categories as well: Categories, CD, Show All, Scanner, Rockets, Unto The Edges Of Edges

Scanner | Rockets, Unto the Edges of Edges


Scanner | Rockets, Unto the Edges of Edges

Artikel-Nr.: BINE CD18
13,90
Preis inkl. MwSt., inkl. Versand


In seiner persönlichsten und kraftvollsten Aufnahme seit Jahren bewegt sich Robin Rimbaud aka Scanner auf frischen Terrain, das gleichfalls das Traditionelle - Gitarren, Vocals und Streicherarrangements - als auch Eklektisches wie hunderte zusammengetragene Stimmen, Funkübertragungen und Feldaufnahmen umschließt.

Schon das erste Stück "Sans Soleil" mit Michael Gira (Swans, Angels Of Light) an der Gitarre überrascht den Zuhörer, greift doch Scanner selbst zum ersten Mal zum Mikrophon und lässt seine Stimme durch eine kahle Landschaft voller zerbrechlicher Loops und Harmonien wandern, während sich in "Pietas Iulia" knackig-verstörte Melodien mit zerschmetternden Beats zu einer bildgewaltigen Landschaft im Stile von Robert Fripp und John Barry vereinen. "Anna Livia Plurabelle" zeichnet ein geradezu schmerzhaft melancholisches Bild, durch das die gefeierte Mumbai-stämmige Sopranistin Patricia Rozario mit strahlendem Timbre gleitet. Als langjährige Muse des britischen Komponisten John Taverner bringt Rozario gleichfalls Gewandheit und menschliche Überzeugung in diese elektronische Klanglandschaft ein.

 

 

Die geisterhafte Präsenz von William Burroughs und Philosoph Bertrand Russell zieht sich durch mehrere Stücke und mündet in das dunkle Herz von "Yellow Plains Under White Hot Blue Sky", einem epischen, beinahe schon bedrohlichen Stück mit korrodierenden Stimmen, Geräuschen und abstrakten Formen über einem urtümlichen, elektronischen Beat, der sich zusammen mit Streichern entzündet und in einer präzisen, pittoresken Explosion gipfelt. "The Last European" gießt kroatische und koreanische Laute in ein rhythmisches Bett aus pulsierenden und instrumentalen Melodien, welches sich durch zwickende Rhythmen bewegt, die sich ineinander verdrehen, während "A Clearing Between Earth And Air" das Album mit einem sehr organischen und bunten Mix aus Stimmen, driftenden Harmonien und Krautrock-Takten abschließt, der eine schwebende Melancholie aus der Verbindung von Stimme mit elektronisch und akustischer Instrumentalisierung entstehen lässt.

In gleichen Teilen opulent und schmerzhaft schön, sentimental und forschend, stellt "Rockets" das bei weitem erwachsenste und persönlich düsterste Album von Scanner dar. Jean Baudrillard hat das Paradies einmal als traurigen Ort beschrieben - ein mehr als passender Ort für diesen hinreißenden Soundtrack.

 

App

 

Release Date // April 27, 2009
Format // Digital Album // CD
Catalog Nr // BINE CD18
EAN // 880319410727



 

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Categories, CD, Show All, Scanner, Rockets, Unto The Edges Of Edges